Ethiopia

I’m spending the next two weeks in Ethiopia, traveling between Addis Ababa, Bahir Dar, Gondar and Lalibela, the typical Northern Circuit for tourists. After spending three years in Tanzania looking down my nose at tourists and trying my damnedest not to act like one, I’m actually kinda excited to embrace the reality of tourism and jump right in…

My main goals are photography and relaxation. Also, some really good food and perhaps a few nice souvenirs. I recently hit the wall at work and I’m hoping this trip will get me recharged. It’s also a great opportunity to dive into my favorite hobby and learn some cool historical stuff.

The sites I’m hitting are famous for their monasteries, castles and churches, respectively. I’m super excited for shots of not just ruins and architecture, but also many of the paintings, murals and pattern work that adorn the interiors of these places. I’ve got some ideas in my head of the images I’d like to create, which is a fun way to head into this. Clearly, I can only react to what’s available in front of me, but judging from some pictures and descriptions I’ve seen, I think I know how I want to approach things.

Even as I travel, I going to keep writing: I’ve been on a good roll and I don’t want to lose momentum. Plus, if I’m gonna constantly claim I’m about that life, I better act like it, right? To that end, I’m going to post a running diary on here—some sketches from my travel. Some might be pretty basic reportage, some might get a little more towards the storytelling side—we’ll see. I’ll also throw in some iPhone pics from the places I go, but definitely stay tuned for a proper album of photos once I get back to Dar and take some time to put one together.

And that, my friends, is the plan, so stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Ethiopia, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ethiopia

  1. Doc Emily says:

    Looking forward to your blogs! I’m planning a 6 month stay in Ethiopia at the start of next year, working in a university in Mekelle, so your tourism adventures are right up my alley. Can’t wait for the photos 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

